Record Prize Fund Announced For Betway Premier League Darts Under New Three Year Sponsorship Deal
Betway hits bullseye to tie-up three-year deal with PDC for UK’s largest indoor sports event.
RECORD prize money of £700,000 will be paid out in the 2015 Betway Premier League Darts, following the completion of a new three-year title sponsorship deal with Betway, the leading international online betting and casino company, until the 2017 tournament.

The commitment follows a successful partnership with the Professional Darts Corporation's widest-reaching event in 2014, where Dutchman Raymond van Barneveld won the final and picked up the Betway Premier League Darts title in front of a 10,000-strong crowd at The O2 in London.

Betway Premier League Darts, the UK and Ireland's biggest indoor sporting event, sees ten of the most recognisable PDC darts players, including reigning champion van Barneveld, current World Champion Michael van Gerwen, 16-time World Champion Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis, compete in packed arenas across 16 weeks from February to May.

Over 100,000 fans from Exeter to Aberdeen will experience the magic of live darts after the 2015 season kicks off at the First Direct Arena in Leeds on Thursday February 5. Millions more viewers will be reached through live broadcasts and repeats on Sky Sports and worldwide through the PDC's broadcast partners in countries including the Netherlands, Germany, Australia and New Zealand.

Betway will be activating the partnership through a number of initiatives to enhance the experience for darts fans and share in their excitement of darts, which in 2014 included the Betway "Walk-On" campaign where fans had the chance to win a unique walk on experience in front of a live audience.

Betway's Executive Director, Bob Dutnall, said: "Betway Premier League Darts was hugely successful for Betway in 2014, our first year of sponsorship, so we are delighted to have secured a long term sponsorship deal in a sport that is increasingly growing in popularity.

"Betway believes in bringing the thrill of sports action to the fans and the Betway Premier League Darts is perfect as it creates a lively and fun atmosphere. Darts betting is a tremendously exciting market for customers and the personalities of the game's players add to that interest.

"Last year's champion, Raymond van Barneveld, was available at 28/1 on at the start of the tournament so it really shows what an open and competitive tournament it can be." Following Betway's commitment to their new three-year sponsorship deal, prize money for the event has been increased from £550,000 to £700,000 in 2015, with a £200,000 first prize on offer to the eventual champion.

PDC Chairman Barry Hearn said: "We're delighted that Betway have extended their sponsorship of the Betway Premier League Darts for a further three years, and the increased prize money is both a reflection of the growth of the tournament and the incredible standard of darts which our players produce on a weekly basis.

"The 2014 Betway Premier League Darts season was the most exciting and competitive yet, with the race for Play-Off places going all the way to the last league night before the dramatic finals night in London.

"This event has been a phenomenal success in the past ten years and has been one of the major catalysts of darts' boom in popularity, with fans across the UK and Ireland able to see the biggest names in the sport live in fantastic arenas.

"As title sponsors, Betway's brand has not only received huge exposure throughout the UK and Ireland but also worldwide through the television coverage which is screened across the globe of this fantastic tournament."

Tickets for the 2015 Betway Premier League Darts went on sale last month and experienced record early sales; over half of all available tickets have already been snapped up by fans.Following the opening night in Leeds, the action continues in Bournemouth, Liverpool, Belfast, Exeter, Nottingham, Glasgow and Dublin before "Judgement Night" in Manchester sees the bottom two players relegated.

The remaining eight players then compete in Sheffield, Aberdeen, Cardiff, Birmingham, Newcastle and Brighton before the top four players progress to the Play-Offs at The O2 in London on May 21. Champion Raymond van Barneveld said: "Winning the 2014 Betway Premier League Darts tournament meant the world to me. It was my first win, after reaching the semi-finals six times previously, and I can't wait to defend my title in the 2015 season.

"The Betway Premier League Darts is a unique experience for darts players as we get play at great venues in front of huge crowds each week. I'm looking forward to taking darts back to the fans around the UK and Ireland with Betway next year."

Six-time Premier League Darts champion Phil Taylor said: "Betway Premier League Darts is the sport at its most exciting - the game's best players in the best venues around the UK and Ireland. Barney had better watch out, because in 2015 I want my title back!"

The ten-player field for the 2015 Betway Premier League Darts will be confirmed early next year, with the top four players from the PDC Order of Merit following the World Championship final on January 4 joined by six Wildcards who will be selected by the PDC and Sky Sports.